Makar crowned the play-off-MVP

Makar obtained the Smythe Prize as the third Avalanche player after Joe Sakic (1996) and also Patrick Roy (2001 ), that had gotten them from Denver in the two previous championship years.

Another statistics prove that Makar was already playing in the round of NHL legends: only Orr and Paul Coffey racked up a standard of per video game far better than Makar 2022 in the play-offs.


The only 23-year-old protector of the Colorado Avalanche pertained to a tremendous 29 scorer factors in the play-offs, making the majority of the newly baked Stanley Mug champions. This makes Makar just the third protector in NHL background, that in one season obtains both the honor as the very best defender of the NHL primary round (James Norris Trophy) and also the play-off MVP title. His precursors were only the protective Bobby Orr (1970, 1972) and also Nicklas Lidström (2002 ).

All Conn-Smythe Trophy champions since 2000:

2022: Cale Makar (Colorado Avalanche).

2021: Andrei Vasilevskiy (Tampa Bay Lightning).

2020: Victor Hedman (Tampa Bay Lightning).

2019: Ryan O’reilly (St. Louis Blues).

2018: Alex Ovechkin (Washington Capitals).

2017: Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins).

2016: Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins).

2015: Duncan Keith (Chicago Blackhawks).

2014: Justin Williams (Los Angeles Kings).

2013: Patrick Kane (Chicago Blackhawks).

2012: Jonathan Quick (Los Angeles Kings).

2011: Tim Thomas (Boston Bruins).

2010: Jonathan Toews (Chicago Blackhawks).

2009: Evgeni Malkin (Pittsburgh Penguins).

2008: Henrik Zetterberg (Detroit Red Wings).

2007: Scott Niedermayer (Anaheim Ducks).

2006: Webcam Ward (Carolina Hurricanes).

2004: Brad Richards (Tampa Bay Lightning).

2003: Jean-Sebastien Giguere (Mighty Ducks of Anaheim; Stanley Cup victor New Jacket Devils).

2002: Nicklas Lidstrom (Detroit Red Wings).

2001: Patrick Roy (Colorado Avalanche).

2000: Scott Stevens (New Jersey Devils).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *