Kanter victory against Salzburg: Benfica Lisbon for the first time Youth-League

The young footballers from Benfica Lisbon won the UEFA Youth League for the first time. The Portuguese prevailed 6-0 (2-0) against RB Salzburg in a one -sided final on Monday evening and successfully took revenge for the final defeat five years ago (1: 2) with the peat festival.

Henrique Araujo (15./58./89., Penalty) by triple pack as well as Martim Neto (2nd), Cher Ndour (53.) and Luis Semedo (69.) scored in the Colovray Stadium in the shadow of the UEFA headquarters in Nyon The goals for the team of coach Luis Castro. It was the clearest final result in competition history. The game was led by the German referee Harm Osmers (Hanover).

With 70 games, Benfica is the record team of the Youth League, in which a European champion of young professionals under the age of 19 has been chosen since the 2013/14 season. The youngsters of the traditional club was in the final for the fourth time.

From a German perspective, the U19 of Borussia Dortmund was the most successful this season. The BVB offspring failed in the quarter-finals on Atletico Madrid. Bayern Munich, RB Leipzig and VfL Wolfsburg were already eliminated in the group phase. A German team has never won the Youth League.

Articles and videos about the topic

Juventus U19 reach semi-finals! | Juventus U19 2-0 Liverpool U19 | UEFA Youth League Highlights
* Top sport live on Dazn. Register now! Can be canceled at any time.

UEFA Youth League, Finale: RB Salzburg vs. Benfica – Statistics for the game

RB Salzburg vs. Benfica Lisbon – 0: 6 (0: 2)



0: 1 Neto (2nd), 0: 2 Araujo (14th), 0: 3 N’Dour (53.), 0: 4 Araujo (58.), 0: 5 Semedo (69.), 0: 6 Araujo (89.)

List Salzburg


Stejskal – Attiabou (Pejazic 38.), Baidoo, Wallner (Moswitzer 77.), Ibertsberger – Agyekum, Sahin, Hofer (Reischl 46.) – Kameri (Jano 77.) – Diakite, Simic

Setup Benfica

| Gomes – Tome (Ferreira 65.), T. Araujo, Silva, Rodrigues – N’Dour, Jevsenak, Neto – Santo, H. Araujo, Moreira (Semedo 59.)

Yellow cards


Salzburg: * Atiabou (30th)
Benfica: * Moreira (22nd), Silva (26th)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *